Rich History

National Yacht Club boasts a long and successful history, full of tradition, and helped shape the Toronto waterfront as we know it today. The club was established in 1890 with the first clubhouse on the west side of the Queens Quay Wharf. In 1904 it was moved to a more protected area on the east side of the wharf - currently the site of the old Loblaws warehouse (N.E. corner of Bathurst and Lakeshore).

The National Yacht Club was constructed for the Sea Fleas making National Yacht Club a centre for powerboat racers. The original name of the club was the National Yacht and Skiff Club, but in 1947 new Letters of Patent were granted for the current name of National Yacht Club.

Making a big mark on the current waterfront, first the Federal Government constructed the steel wall to give added protection to the basin in 1950. Then in 1983 the Toronto Harbour Commission proposed a new landfill site for National Yacht Club with a new 50 year lease, creating the strip of land the clubhouse sits on today. By 1988 the new clubhouse which exists today opened to great celebration.

From Past to Present

The clubhouse and docks have undergone many renovations and upgrades since opening including expansion of docks between 1999-2001, renovations to the chart room in 2003 and the installation of an elevator to service second floor dining room two years later. The second floor restaurant received a complete renovation, re-opening in March 2008 to rave reviews.

Over the past twenty years National Yacht Club has become known in the racing community through hosting events such as LYRA, the 1999 Mobility Cup, several NOOD Regattas (co-hosted with RCYC) and the annual C&C Owners Regatta.

National Yacht Club has also always been involved in supporting a number of community-oriented programs like the Sea Scouts, the University of Toronto Sailing Team and the Broad Reach Foundation for Youth by providing location for program activities.